Maryland Burglary Laws & Penalties
Arrested for Burglary in Maryland? Get the Criminal Defense Legal Help you Need!
Burglary involves entering the property of another with the intent to steal. It is different from many theft crimes in that the mere entering of the property itself is an unlawful act. Because of this added element, it is penalized more severely than a regular theft charge.
When you are facing charges of burglary in the state of Maryland, you may go to prison. This prospect can be frightening as no one wants to lose their freedom and no one wants a crime like this on their record.
Fortunately, we may be able to help. Having represented numerous clients against charges like these, we understand what you are up against and the serious nature of the charges against you. We want you to know that not every burglary charge ends in conviction and there are steps that you can take to reduce the likelihood that you will face the most serious penalties.
Maryland Burglary Penalties
Under Title 6 of the Maryland Code, there are several different burglary laws. The specific facts of your case will determine which charge you are facing and subsequently, your potential penalty.?
When these laws refer to “breaking and entering,” it doesn’t mean that the door must be kicked in or the lock broken, merely that you entered a secure area that you had no lawful entitlement to.
Fourth Degree Burglary
Burglary in the 4th degree refers to breaking and entering a dwelling, storehouse, yard, or garden of another with the intent of committing a theft. It is classified as a misdemeanor and carries a potential 3 years in prison.
Third Degree Burglary
If you break and enter someone else’s dwelling with the intent to commit any crime, you could face this charge. It is classified as a felony and carries up to 10 years in prison.
Second Degree Burglary
Second degree burglary refers to breaking and entering the storehouse (shed, garage, etc.) of another with the intent to commit theft, violence or arson, or to steal a firearm. This offense is classified as a felony and can be penalized by up to 20 years in prison depending on the facts of the case.
First Degree Burglary
If you break and enter the dwelling of another person with intent to commit a theft or a crime of violence, you could face a first degree burglary charge. If convicted you could face up to 20 years in prison.
Burglary laws in Maryland can seem confusing. You need someone on your side who doesn’t only understand the law but your place in them. Contact our attorneys today to discuss your case with a local attorney, someone who understands what your going through and someone who can help.
Call For a Free Case Evaluation on a Maryland Criminal Charge
Call to discuss the fact of your case, what penalties you are likely facing, and what your chances are to get the charges dismissed, reduced, or a not guilty verdict if we go to trial.
I will give you the benefit of my experience fighting and winning felony criminal cases in Maryland courts. Call now for a no obligation legal consultation. I’ll go over your case and tell you exactly what I can do to help.
Call (888) 452-4344 for your criminal defense consultation.